Reading Through the Apocalypse: The January Wrap-up

January was quite the tumultuous month! Despite having so many distractions (the start of the apocalypse for one), I managed to get more reading in than I ever thought I would.

Books Read: 21

The majority of these were comics or graphic novels (12), but non-graphic books weren’t too far behind (9). Far more impressive than the number is the variety. Books read this month included comics memoirs, superheroes, speculative short fiction, thrillers, political essays, fairy tale re-tellings, LGBT romance and more. There were 17 fiction titles and 4 non-fiction. It totaled 4,187 pages, averaging slightly more than 135 pages a day.

Some of my favorites this month:

March: Book One, Two & Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
The Bear and The Nightingale by Katherine Arden [review]
What We Do Now edited by Dennis Johnson and Valerie Merians
Ms. Marvel Vol 2: Generation Why & Vol 3: Crushed by G Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona, and Jacob Wyatt

Books Purchased: 17

… or 41 if we’re counting all the ebooks. (Eek) In December I made the mistake of signing up for a few ebook deal emails. Then I discovered novellas and short stories for $0.99 on Kindle and it was all over.

There were also a few good bookstore trips this month, including a very productive one at After Words in Chicago that I squeezed in just before brunch. Don’t let me fool you though, it wasn’t all great indie bookstores – I also bought books off publisher websites, Amazon.com (I know), at the bookstore in the train station (they have a surprisingly well curated sci-fi & fantasy section), and off the Barnes and Noble website. If there is one thing I am incapable of doing, it’s ignoring books for sale.

My initial plan was to list all the books I’d bought, but this entry would never end. Have some highlights from the TBR pile instead:

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell
Homesick for Another World by Ottessa Moshfegh
The Origins of Totalitarianism by Hannah Arendt
Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life by Ed Yong

Books Abandoned: 0

Conveniently not counted is the fact that my Good Reads account claims I’m currently reading 13 books despite only actively reading two. None have been abandoned recently and I’ll get around to finishing them eventually.

Probably.

/hides that copy of Moby Dick I haven’t picked up in a year.

Book Reviews In Progress: 3

The review for What We Do Now will go up this week, followed by a review of the forthcoming Miranda and Caliban by Jacqueline Carey (just need to squeeze in a quick re-read of The Tempest first). There’s also a review of a brilliant illustrated memoir forthcoming, so look out for that sometime in the near future as well.

Hope all of you had a productive, informative, and entertaining reading month in January!

Leave a Reply

