Ill Timed Vacations & Other Stories : The February Wrap-up

February has long come and gone without a post to remark on it. This is what happens when your day job gets busy and you take a vacation at the end of the month. Got to watch great hockey in person (Penguins @ Blackhawks and Blackhawks @ Predators), check out Nashville for the first time, and discover a great indie bookstore so it was worth it!

Books Read: 15

My book reading pace slowed down a bit this month, though keeping up the kind of high volume reading I managed in January wasn’t going to happen. This month I read far fewer graphic novels (3) and instead focused on prose writing (12). Fiction (9) continued to dominate my reading, but non-fiction (6) ticked up a bit. Once again the topics were all over the place, from feminist essays to poetry collections, fantasy novels, short story collections, and even a play. My page count was also down this month, totaling only 3,076 pages and averaging a much lower 109.8 pages per day.

Some of my favorite reads this month:

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sara Vowell

Life on Mars by Tracy K. Smith

Things We Lost In The Fire: Stories by Mariana Enríquez [review]

Shrill by Lindy West

As always you can check out my GoodReads page to see what I’ve read and what I’m currently reading.

Books Purchased: 19

… including ebooks!

Managed not to make any bookstore trips in February (mostly because I knew I’d be going on vacation at the beginning of March). Online purchases again dominated the month, including throwing an extra book in my Book of the Month Club box.

All the books I purchased in February, in no particular order:

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Operation Paperclip: The Secret Intelligence Program that Brought Nazi Scientists to America by Annie Jacobsen

Bookburners by Max Gladstone

The Rise of Io by Wesley Chu

On The Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

Whatever Happened to Interracial Love? by Kathleen Collins

Shadow Magic by Patricia C. Wrede

Daughter of Witches by Patricia C. Wrede

The Harp of Imach Tyssel by Patricia C. Wrede

Caught in Crystal by Patricia C. Wrede

The Raven Ring by Patricia C. Wrede

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler

The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie

The War Against the Jews: 1933 – 1945 by Lucy S. Dawidowicz

Four Roads Cross by Max Gladstone

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Ibram X. Kendi

… I have read none of these.

Books Borrowed: > 11

I forgot to count, but the majority of the books I read in February were borrowed from the library. The library where I currently live has a limited budget (rural area) and I vehemently disagree with a lot of the things they do (re-arranging the layout constantly, lack of diversity in purchases, retiring newer books without replacing them even when they’re the first in an ongoing series, their weird sporadically applied adherence to the Dewey Decimal system). However, they’ve recently joined up with a larger regional inter-library loan system and suddenly I can get my hands on a lot of things they don’t bother with (Books by people of color! Adult sci-fi and fantasy novels! Graphic novels and comics that aren’t from the big two publishers! Poetry books! The early books in series like Tana French’s Murder Squad!).

My dad also lent me a sci-fi novel I have to read and let’s not talk about the entire borrowed stack of books currently occupying an end table in my sitting area.

Highlights from the borrowed in February TBR pile:

The Lost City of the Monkey God: A True Story by Douglas Preston

Leviathan’s Wake by James S.A. Corey*

White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide by Carol Anderson

Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay

The Likeness by Tana French

The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley

*This is the loan from my dad, who wanted me to know that James S.A. Corey is apparently two people writing together. Not entirely sure why that is important, but he was very emphatic. This is also the book that SyFy’s show The Expanse is based on. It’s a great show and season 1 is currently available on Amazon Prime streaming. I recommend having someone read the book while you’re watching season 1 and try and have a conversation about it where neither of you spoil the other!

Book Reviews In Progress: 2

Just got an ARC for In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan which I’m pretty excited about. Expect a review on that by the end of the month. If any of you are looking for good YA Fantasy, Rees Brennan has already written two excellent series that you should check out: The Demon’s Lexicon and The Lynburn Legacy.

Despite the brevity of the month, I hope February (and the first half of March) was an enjoyable and productive reading month for all of you!

One thought on “Ill Timed Vacations & Other Stories : The February Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

